Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Sei tutors in Rutherford, NJ

Sei C.

Private tutor in Rutherford, NJ

Education

University of Pennsylvania, GPA of 3.7 out of 4.0, Graduated magna cum laude. Degree in Biological Basis of Behavior major and Anthropology minor. I am currently attending Rutgers New Jersey Medical School and will graduate with honors (in the top 16% of the class) with a Medical Degree in May 2017.

Experience

I have always approached education with a broad and open perspective, learning and excelling in a wide range of subjects. I am very patient and committed, and my priority is the growth of my student. USMLE Step 1 exam: 251 MCAT: Verbal 9 | Phys.Sciences 12 | Biol.Sciences 11 | Writing R | Overall 32R SAT I: 2250 (780 Math | 770 Writing | 700 Verbal) SAT II: (800 Math IIC | 750 Math I | 770 Chemistry | 770 Molecular Biology). My achievements are: Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society, Dean's List 2010-2011, 2011-2012, and 2012-2013, National Merit Letter Recipient, AP Scholar Award, Biology League Award, 3rd place at Chemistry Olympics, National Honors Society, Science Olympiad. Experiences: I have published over 30 research papers, poster presentations, and podium oral presentations in the field of Otolaryngology. All manuscripts have been published in peer-reviewed scientific journals, and I have published in the most prestigious Otolaryngologic journals, such as The Laryngoscope, International Forum of Allergy and Rhinology, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and Otology and Neurotology. All poster and podium presentations have been presented at the most prestigious Otolaryngologic national conferences, such as the American Academy of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery and Triological Society Combined Sections Meeting. During medical school, I was a tutor and mentor to a 2nd grade student, who attended the elementary school across the street from my school. She had been held back due to her lack of progression, and family troubles she was having at home was affecting her academics. I helped her with math, reading, and writing, as well as provided guidance and counseling regarding any personal issues she discussed with me. I have been a member of the student group, Collaborative Approaches to Learning Medicine (CALM), for four years during medical school. This entails mentoring and tutoring fellow classmates regarding medical school classes, exams, and research. During college, I tutored a 2nd grade student in math and English, tutored a 3rd grader in math, reading comprehension, and phonics, tutored an adult in College Algebra, and tutored an adult in the MCATs. In high school I tutored students in my community through my membership in the National Honor Society. I also privately tutored an 8th grader in pre-Algebra. Related experiences: I worked as a recreational camp counselor at Camp Sunshine/Snowflake in Ridgewood, NJ for 4 years working with mentally and/or physically handicapped camper(s) of all ages, many of whom had difficult conditions such as cystic fibrosis, autism, and sometimes disfiguring mental illnesses. As founder of a non-profit chapter organization at UPenn, called Global Medical & Dental Brigades, one of my many responsibilities is to create the syllabus for a children's educational workshop on basic hygiene, nutrition, exercise, and oral health. By making skits and visual art, such as posters, songs, and so on, members of our organization teach the workshops ourselves. The educational workshops are one aspect to our group's health clinics that we bring to rural communities in Honduras and Nicaragua. As a tutor, I am very patient and cater my teaching style to the needs and learning style of the student because everyone learns best in their own, individuals ways. I am very attentive and know how to deal with frustration in order to turn it into success; I can relate with students who are struggling to understand a subject. My ultimate goal to achieve with each and every student is to establish the fundamentally "right" way to study, ensuring that he or she really comprehends the concepts behind each topic, rather than purely memorizing solutions.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I am a very active person, so my most enjoyable hobbies are being outside, exercising, and so on. Mainly, I swim long-distance about 3-5 days a week, go mountain biking about once a week, and go golfing as much as possible when the weather is nice. I also love cooking and it has become a huge hobby of mine to create healthy recipes, mainly for people who are very busy and living on a budget.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!